2 locals poised for Foss Waterway Development Authority reappointments

Two people could soon be reappointed to Tacoma's Foss Waterway Development Authority (FWDA) Board of Directors.

Two people could soon be reappointed to Tacoma’s Foss Waterway Development Authority (FWDA) Board of Directors.

The seven-member panel is tasked with undertaking, assisting with, and otherwise facilitating the redevelopment of property within and along Thea Foss Waterway in downtown Tacoma, according to the City of Tacoma’s Web site. Commission members are appointed by the Mayor of Tacoma and Tacoma City Council; serve three-year terms; and typically include civic or business leaders with experience in such fields as finance, real estate development, law, and construction management. To the extent possible, a majority of FWDA Board of Directors should be Pierce County residents. The panel typically meets at 4 p.m. every fourth Wednesday of every month at 535 Dock St., Suite 204, in downtown Tacoma.

The City issued a call for applicants in October to fill two three-year terms on the panel. Tacoma City Council’s Economic Development Committee recommended the re-appointment of William Driscoll and Jay Jetter to the FWDA Board of Directors during a public meeting on Tues., Nov. 25. The committee then forwarded its recommendations for appointments to the full city council for final confirmation.

Tacoma City Council is scheduled to vote on a resolution to reappoint Driscoll and Jetter to serve three-year terms to expire on Dec. 31, 2017, during a public meeting on Tues., Dec. 16, at 5 p.m., at Tacoma City Hall. Copies of the resolution and staff memo are available online here and here, respectively.


To read the Tacoma Daily Index‘s complete and comprehensive coverage of the Foss Waterway Development Authority, click on the following links:

Tags: , , ,

Related Stories