Tacoma's Citizens Recognition Committee seeks five new members

The City of Tacoma’s Citizens Recognition Committee seeks five new members who live or work within Tacoma’s city limits. The committee is a group of local community leaders from a broad array of backgrounds and areas of expertise appointed by City Council to recognize outstanding volunteer work in Tacoma. Ideal applicants will have experience in the following areas: human and social services; community involvement; neighborhoods; and small business. Tacoma City Council will review all applications and select five new members who will begin serving upon appointment. This 11-member committee meets from 4 to 5 p.m. on the second Thursday of each month to develop the City of Destiny Awards’ nomination tools and selection criteria, select the City of Destiny Award winners and plan the annual City of Destiny Awards event. To obtain an application form, visit http://www.cityoftacoma.org/commissions. The City Manager’s Office will accept applications through Dec. 31, 2011. Applications must be sent to Cindy DeGrosse, City Manager’s Office, Room 1200, Tacoma Municipal Building, 747 Market St., Tacoma 98402. For more information about the City of Destiny Awards, visit http://www.cityoftacoma.org/destinyawards or contact Maria Lee in the Community Relations Office at (253) 591-2054.