Pierce County Council elects leadership, makes committee assignments

The seven-member Pierce County Council has elected its leadership and made assignments on Council committees and other boards and commissions.

At this month’s Council meeting, Pierce County Council member Doug Richardson was re-elected Council chair. Council member Rick Talbert as vice-chair and Council member

Doug Richardson, Pierce County Council
Doug Richardson, Pierce County Council

Dan Roach will serve as executive pro-tempore. The chair presides at all regular Council meetings, while the vice-chair presides in the absence of the chair. The executive pro tempore is a council member selected to perform some of the County Executive’s duties in the event of the executive’s absence or temporary disability.

“I feel honored to be re-elected by my colleagues as the Council chair,” said Richardson, who represents the 6th District.  “As a council we have many issues to address this year such as the budget, behavioral health, public safety and economic development just to name a few. My hope is that I can assist in ensuring a clear, thoughtful and transparent process.”

Council members selected their standing committee assignments, as well as positions on the various county boards and commissions:

 Rules and Operations Committee meets Mondays at 10 a.m. – Richardson (chair), Talbert (vice chair, District 5), Dan Roach (executive pro-tempore, District 1), Jim McCune (alternate, District 3).

 Community Development Committee meets on the first and third Monday of each month at 1:30 p.m. – Derek Young (chair, District 7), Richardson (vice chair), Talbert (member), McCune (member), Pam Roach (member, District 2).

 Economic and Infrastructure Development Committee meets on the second and fourth Tuesday of each month at 9:30 a.m. – Pam Roach (chair), Connie Ladenburg (vice chair, District 4), Doug Richardson (member), Talbert (member), McCune (member).

 Public Safety and Human Services, and Budget Committee meets on the second Monday of each month at 1:30 p.m. – Dan Roach (chair), Young (vice chair), Ladenburg (member), McCune (member), Pam Roach (member).

 Ad Hoc Committee on Human Services –  Connie Ladenburg (chair), Derek Young (vice chair), Doug Richardson (member).

 Ad Hoc Committee on Budget – Richardson (chair), Dan Roach (vice chair), Talbert (member).


 — Pierce County