National Trust for Historic Preservation seeks 'Distinctive Destinations'

The National Trust for Historic Preservation is now accepting nominations for its 2011 list of Dozen Distinctive Destinations. Since 2000, the National Trust has annually selected communities from across America that offer cultural and recreational experiences different from the typical vacation destination. From dynamic downtowns and stunning architecture to cultural diversity and commitments to historic preservation, sustainability, and revitalization, the selected destinations boast a richness of character and exude an authentic sense of place.

Back by popular demand, the public will vote on a “fan favorite” from among the 12 selected destinations that will be featured as the #1 Distinctive Destination in the country by the National Trust. In Washington State, Ellensburg (2007), Friday Harbor (2008), Port Townsend (2000), Vancouver (2003), and Walla Walla (2002) were named Distinctive Destinations by the National Trust.

Nominations are open to Convention and Visitors Bureaus, Chambers of Commerce, National Trust Statewide and Local Partners, Main Street Offices, Historic Hotels of America, and other tourism, preservation or local organizations. Individuals are encouraged to contact these organizations to support the submission of a nomination of their community for this annual heritage tourism program. There is a $150 application fee.

The selected destinations receive extensive promotion through the National Trust’s Web site,; inclusion in a feature story in Preservation magazine; support from the National Trust in planning a local media event — past events have included the participation of governors, senators, mayors, local representatives, and community members; a promotional toolkit and press release; a certificate and plaque; and the title of 2011 Dozen Distinctive Destination and use of the program logo on all materials.

To complete a nomination form, visit . Completed applications, including images, video and letters of support, are due on Sept. 10, 2010. For more information, call (202) 588-6141, or e-mail Special Projects Coordinator Joelle Schatz at .