Ladenburg elected Sound Transit Board Chair

The Sound Transit Board earlier this month unanimously elected Pierce County Executive John W. Ladenburg to succeed King County Executive Ron Sims as chair.

Seattle Mayor Greg Nickels and Everett City Council Member Mark Olson were elected as vice chairs.

“I’m honored to be selected as the chair of Sound Transit for the next two years,” said Ladenburg, who has served as the board’s vice chair since 2001.

The new chair said the coming months will be a vital and exciting time for the region as Sound Transit builds light rail in the Seattle area and continues planning for its extension to the University District and Northgate.

“We’re also looking forward to expanding our Sounder commuter rail system to Everett and continuing to improve our ST Express regional bus system, including building new transit centers and direct freeway access ramps for buses and carpools,” Ladenburg said.