Annual Volunteer Recognition Brunch this Saturday

The “Volunteers of the Year” at Pierce County’s 25th annual Volunteer Recognition Brunch are Puyallup resident Kim Calavan from Pierce County Juvenile Court and Lakewood resident Tom Martin from the Sheriff’s Department.

Joshua Brodie of Olympia is the “Youth Volunteer of the Year.” The “Volunteer Group of the Year” is the WSU Cooperative Extension Master Gardeners program.

“Outstanding Volunteer” awards will be presented to 53 adults and 4 youths. Seven groups will receive “Outstanding Volunteer Group” awards.

Additionally, long-term achievement awards will be presented to Loretta Chivers of Tacoma, Dona Stone of Puyallup, and posthumously to former University Place resident Henry Farr.

The Volunteer Recognition Brunch will be held from 10 a.m. to noon, on Saturday, April 19, at the Tacoma Sheraton Convention Center,1320 Broadway Plaza.

Pierce County Executive John Ladenburg and Council Chair Harold Moss will serve as masters of ceremonies.

This event is held to honor the many volunteers who give of their time and talents on Pierce County government’s behalf. The brunch typically draws a crowd of 400 or more each year.