4 candidates apply to serve on Tacoma Events and Recognitions Committee

Four local residents will be interviewed this week for consideration to serve on the City of Tacoma’s Events and Recognitions Committee.

The nine-member committee consists of Tacoma residents, with representatives from each of Tacoma’s five Council Districts, who bring a range of perspectives and expertise that focus on the City’s commitment to celebrate civic engagement and special observations. Committee members are recommended by Tacoma City Council’s Economic Development Committee and appointed by City Council. The committee serves as an advisory and action committee on matters pertaining to City-hosted events and special recognition programs. The committee is responsible for planning, reviewing, and evaluating events; engaging the community in its fundraising efforts; and soliciting corporate and private sponsorships to leverage funds for City-hosted events such as the Martin Luther King, Jr. Celebration and the City of Destiny Awards.

The City of Tacoma issued a call for applications last month. The deadline expired on Fri., June 27. Four candidates applied: Beverly Bowen-Bennett (At-Large, Council District 3); Deirdre Evans (At-Large, Council District 1); Erin Lee (At-Large, Council District 2); and Twylia Westling (At-Large, Council District 2).


Tacoma City Council’s Economic Development Committee is scheduled to interview the candidates during a public meeting on Tues., July 8, at 10 a.m., at the Tacoma Municipal Building, 747 Market St., Conference Room 248, in downtown Tacoma. Copies of the agenda and meeting materials are available online here.