3 locals could join Tacoma Landmarks Preservation Commission

Three local residents could soon be appointed to Tacoma’s Landmarks Preservation Commission.

The 11-member commission oversees the establishment and regulation of landmarks, local historic districts, proposed name changes for public facilities, and certain property tax incentives, according to the City’s Web site.

Commission members are appointed by Tacoma City Council; serve three-year terms; and typically include three architects, four individuals with professional expertise in preservation-related fields, one representative from the Tacoma Arts Commission, and three interested citizens. Non-voting ex-officio members may be appointed to represent property and business owners within Tacoma’s historic districts. The Landmarks Preservation Commission typically meets at Tacoma City Hall at 5:30 p.m. on the second and fourth Wednesdays of each month.

In October, the City issued a call for applicants to fill four volunteer positions on the commission: (one position) Architect; (two positions) At-Large; and (one position) Professional (see “City seeks applicants for Tacoma Landmarks Preservation Commission,” Tacoma Daily Index, Oct. 6, 2014). The deadline for applications expired on Weds., Oct. 29. Tacoma City Council’s Neighborhoods and Housing Committee interviewed three candidates — Lysa Schloesser (seeking re-appointment — Architect, At-Large); Laureen Skrivan (Professional, At-Large); and Eugene Thorne (At-Large) — during a public meeting on Mon., Nov. 17 (see “3 candidates apply to serve on Tacoma Landmarks Preservation Commission,” Tacoma Daily Index, Nov. 13, 2014). The committee then forwarded its recommendations for appointments to the full city council for final confirmation.

Tacoma City Council is scheduled to vote on a resolution to re-appoint Schloesser to an Architect position to serve a three year-term to expire on Dec. 31, 2017; appoint Skrivan to a Professional position to serve an unexpired term to expire on Dec. 31, 2015; and appoint Thorne to an At-Large position to expire on Dec. 31, 2015, during a public meeting on Tues., Dec. 9, at 5 p.m., at Tacoma City Hall. Copies of the resolution and staff memo are available online here and here, respectively.