GeoEngineers, Jimmy John’s named local transportation innovators

The Tacoma-Pierce County Chamber and Downtown On the Go recently honored a variety of downtown businesses, employees, and residents for their work in sustainable transportation and commute options by awarding the annual Transportation Innovator Awards.

The awards acknowledge and celebrate work being done that helps meet Downtown On the Go’s goal of reducing the number of single-occupancy vehicles by 11 per cent by 2015. An awards ceremony sponsored by Propel Insurance and Jacobs Engineering on Friday at Pacific Grill Events Center provided an opportunity to honor the award recipients, hear from local transportation experts working to improve transportation in downtown Tacoma, and learn more about local agencies and their active transportation options and projects in Tacoma. Guest speakers included Tacoma City Councilmember Ryan Mello; Artifacts Consulting Principal Michael Sullivan; Lloyd TMA Executive Director Rick Williams; BLRB Architects / Downtown On the Go Board President Jonah Jensen; and Downtown On the Go Manager Kristina Walker.

This year’s Transportation Innovator Awards categories and recipients include:

Walk Tacoma – Awarded to the business or individual who is instrumental in the success of Downtown On the Go’s Walk Tacoma series and a year-round promoter of walking as a commute mode through education and/or incentives to get out and be active on the streets of Tacoma. Honoring those who work to make downtown Tacoma more vibrant and walkable. 2014 RECIPIENT: Tacoma Public Schools.

Innovative Parking Solutions – Awarded to the business or individual who has made a difference through parking policy, promotion, pricing or education. Honoring businesses who have utilized creative partnerships or use of spaces. This can include parking for cars, carpools, vanpools, bicycles, motorcycles or scooters. 2014 RECIPIENT: City of Tacoma’s Green Events Program.

Advocacy – Awarded to the business or individual who has made a difference for downtown Tacoma through transportation advocacy at the local, state or federal level. 2014 RECIPIENT: GeoEngineers Senior Scientist Garrett Leque.

Bold Step/Big Program – Awarded to the business or individual who made a bold change in practice or policy to create opportunities for transportation options. 2014 RECIPIENT: Northwest Leadership Foundation.

Live Downtown Program – Awarded to the business or individual who has gone above and beyond in promoting the Live Downtown Program to incentivize living close to work. 2014 RECIPIENT: Economic Development Board for Tacoma-Pierce County.

Biking Strong – Awarded to the business or individual who is a leader year-round in promoting, education and encouraging bicycling as a commute mode; and creating opportunities for bicycling through the provision of bike parking for employees and customers, bike infrastructure, or showers. Honoring those who work to make downtown Tacoma more bike-friendly through their business or their work. 2014 RECIPIENT: Jimmy John’s of Downtown Tacoma.

Volunteer of the Year – 2014 RECIPIENT: Downtown Tacoma resident Carla Gramlich.

Past Transportation Innovator Awards recipients include:


  • Julie Swenson at Evergreen Home Loans, Vue 25, and Broadway Center for the Performing Arts
  • Zipcar
  • Rusty George Creative
  • Karen Bunger
  • South Sound American Heart Association
  • Patti Sutton




To read the Tacoma Daily Index‘s complete and comprehensive coverage of the Tacoma-Pierce County Chamber / Downtown On the Go Transportation Innovator Awards, click on the following links: