Tacoma Historic Preservation Month includes Old Town walking tour, Lincoln District poetry slam

The City of Tacoma will celebrate National Historic Preservation Month in May.

The City of Tacoma will celebrate National Historic Preservation Month in May.

Tacoma’s theme this years is #SecretTacoma: Tacoma’s Surprising History and includes a series of events that aim to celebrate underrepresented contributors to Tacoma’s history.

Here is a list of events planned for Historic Preservation Month in Tacoma:

  • Sat., April 30 & Sun., May 1 (10 a.m. – 5 p.m.) — 22nd Annual Historic Homes of Tacoma Tour
  • Tues., May 3, (4:45 p.m. – 6 p.m.) — Historic Preservation Month Proclamation
  • Fri., May 6 (7 p.m. – 9 p.m.) — Historic Preservation Month Kick Off
  • Sat., May 7 (11 a.m. — 12 p.m.) — Old Town Walking Tour
  • Sat., May 14 (11 a.m. — 4 p.m.) — The Amazing Preservation Race
  • Fri., May 20 (6 p.m. — 8 p.m.) — City of Destiny Poetry Slam: Lincoln Edition
  • Sun., May 22 (1 p.m. — 3 p.m.) — Historic Preservation Month Awards
  • Sat., May 28 (10 a.m. — 12 p.m.) — 1950s Ride
  • Tues., May 31 (12 p.m. — 2 p.m.) — History Speaks: “Eyes of the Totem Rediscovered”
  • Sat., June 4 (3 p.m. — 6 p.m.) — Film Screening: Eyes of the Totem

More information about each event is available online here.

The National Trust for Historic Preservation established National Historic Preservation Month in 1973 in order to promote historic preservation and community pride in local heritage sites.

041216_2016_hpm_web

Tags: ,

Related Stories