Tacoma, Dillanos will host annual Barista Championships

Dillanos Coffee Roasters of Sumner announced today it will host the Northwest Regional Barista Competition Jan. 9-11 at the Temple Theater in Tacoma.

According to event coordinator Jay Lijewski, every year the World Barista Championships are held to give the best baristas from around the world a chance to be named the top barista in the world. “It’s a long journey for the barista who makes it to the top,” he said. “The competition was designed to push the limits of professional espresso preparation, dramatically raising the bar of what is expected of anyone who claims the title of barista.”

The United States is divided into ten regions, with the Northwest Region consisting of Alaska, Washington and Oregon. Specialty Coffee Association of America sponsors the competition. The Northwest Regional Competition is the biggest and oldest barista competition in the country. Approximately 50 competitors, 25 judges, and 30 volunteers will participate, as well as about 1,000 spectators.

Admission is free. Baristas must first compete in the regional competition within their country, then move to nationals, and finally, The World Barista Competition.

Each competitor has fifteen minutes to prepare four espressos, four cappuccinos, and four signature drinks. Each drink will be served to a panel of judges that will grade the competitor on proficiency, preparation, and cleanliness of work area, and taste. The judges also look for an acute knowledge of the specific coffee blend used by the baristas.

For more information, visit http://www.scaa.org and http://www.baristaexchange.com .


FRI., JAN. 9

— 7:30 am – 11 am / Competitors practice
— 11 am – 7 pm / Round One (Competitors 1-20)
— 9:30 am / Open to the public

SAT., JAN. 10
— 7:30 am – 11 am / Competitors practice
— 9:30 am / Open to the public
— 11 am – 7 pm / Round Two (Competitors 21-50)
— 7:30 – 8:00 pm / Finalists Announced

SUN., JAN. 11
— 7:00 – 10:00 am / Finalist Practice Session
— 9:30 am / Open to the public
— 10:30 am – 1:00 pm / Finals (Competitors 1-6)
— 1:30 – 2:00 pm / Awards Ceremony