Murray Morgan Bridge, Point Defiance Park among Tacoma's 11 Wonders

As part of its weeklong celebration of the newly renovated, re-opened, 100-year-old Murray Morgan Bridge, the City of Tacoma on Wednesday announced the results of its public survey to name Tacoma’s “11 Wonders.”

The final list of Tacoma’s 11 Wonders includes 1. Point Defiance Park & Zoo; 2. Union Station; 3. Ruston Way Waterfront; 4. Tacoma Narrows Bridge; 5. Views of Mt. Rainier; 6. Stadium High School; 7. Wright Park; 8. Museum of Glass; 9. Fort Nisqually; 10. Octopus under the Tacoma Narrows Bridge; and 11. Murray Morgan Bridge.

The 11 Wonders included in the survey were submitted by local leaders such as former Tacoma Mayor Bill Baarsma, Broadway Center for the Performing Arts Executive Director David Fischer, and Downtown Merchants Group Interim President Judi Hyman.

Tacoma's Murray Morgan Bridge. (FILE PHOTO BY TODD MATTHEWS)