Meyer named Port of Tacoma commission president

Port of Tacoma commissioners have named Don Meyer to lead the 2013 Commission. Meyer, who was elected to the Commission in November 2009, succeeds Commissioner Dick Marzano as president.

Meyer is the former executive director of the Foss Waterway Development Authority and a former deputy executive director of the Port. Born and raised on a farm in South Dakota, he has an undergraduate degree in business from Pacific Lutheran University in Tacoma and a master’s degree in business administration from the University of South Dakota. He currently serves on the Pierce College board of trustees, the Pacific Lutheran University School of Business Executive Advisory Board, the Tacoma Waterfront Association, Tacoma-Pierce County Economic Development Board, the board of the LeMay Car Museum and the Joint Municipal Action Committee. He also recently served on the Governor’s Connecting Washington Task Force.

The 2013 Port of Tacoma Commission includes Don Meyer, president; Clare Petrich, vice president; Don Johnson, secretary; Connie Bacon, first assistant secretary; and Dick Marzano, second assistant secretary. The Port’s five commissioners serve four-year terms. Officer positions rotate yearly. Commission meetings and study sessions are open to the public. They are held in Room 104 of The Fabulich Center at 3600 Port of Tacoma Road. Meetings also are available for viewing live and on demand online at

Port of Tacoma Commission President Don Meyer. (PHOTO COURTESY PORT OF TACOMA)