McGregor receives City Club leadership award

City Club of Tacoma announced yesterday its has selected Pat McGregor as its 2008 “Dennis Seinfeld Leadership Award” winner. This annual award is given to an individual who best demonstrates the qualities and values of a community leader, but is not yet well-known or established as a recognized leader. McGregor and his fellow nominees will be honored publicly at City Club’s annual leadership luncheon today at noon at the Landmark Convention Center.

According to City Club, McGregor has rallied Tacoma’s Whitman Area Neighbors group to overcome alcohol impact, gang activity, prostitution, and general apathy and neglect. He was arguably the biggest influence for passage of the South End Alcohol Impact Area, which has dramatically reduced “drunk in public” incidents. He has organized many communitywide cleanups and works with Whitman School and the district to engage the school in the community and to help reduce vandalism. When not volunteering in his community, McGregor is a sixth-grade teacher at Chief Leschi School in Puyallup.

Other leadership finalists and award nominees include:

— Leadership Finalists —

1 . Marty Campbell

2. Rachael Costner

3. Gretchen Roosevelt and Kathy Westlin

4. Stephanie Schuster

5. Sharon Winters

— Honored Nominees —

1. Jeffrey Brewster

2. Lara Herrmann

3. Timothy Joy

4. Fred King

5. Mark Lindquist

6. Sally Perkins

EDITOR’S NOTE: McGregor’s effort to create a historic district in the Whitman Area was reported last July in the Index. Read the article here: