House Honors 2002 Puyallup Valley Daffodil Festival

The House of Representatives unanimously approved Wednesday a resolution commemorating the 69th annual Puyallup Valley Daffodil Festival.
“Puyallup’s Daffodil Festival is a wonderful part of our community’s civic pride,” said Rep. Sarah Casada (R-Puyallup). “This festival focuses national and regional attention on our local area as a place to live and visit.”
Casada and Rep. Dave Morell (R-Puyallup) are prime sponsors of House Resolution 4718.
The events for this year’s festival are ongoing and will culminate in the April 20 Grand Floral Street Parade, winding its way from downtown Tacoma to the communities of Puyallup, Sumner, and Orting.
“Anyone who has attended any of the last 86 prior parades will remember, as I have for the last quarter of a century, lining my kids on the curb, feeding them candy and popcorn, giving them balloons, and as my wife would say, making memories for our family,” said Morell.
“The Daffodil Festival is a cherished tradition for the people of Pierce County and the Northwest.”
HR 4718 resolves, “That the Washington State House of Representatives recognize and honor the many contributions made to our state by the Puyallup Valley Daffodil Festival and its organizers over the past sixty-nine years.”
The royalty for this year’s festival includes princesses:
Anne Beale, Stadium High School; Brittany Bensch, Henry Foss High School; Madeline Chipps, Puyallup High School; Stephanie Clabaugh, Wilson High School; Stephani Clifford, Curtis High School;
Natalie Dudley, Eatonville High School; Alysha Holmquist, Fife High School; Danielle Morris, Lakes High School; Rachel Ott, Sumner High School; Thy Pham-Cieliesz, Gov. John Rogers High School;
Nicole Remy, Spanaway Lake High School; Jennifer Rainey, Emerald Ridge High School; Melanie Sarreal, Bethel High School; Mindi Seffens, Lincoln High School;
Theary So, Mt. Tahoma High School; Laura Soler, Orting High School; Patricia Trella, Washington High School; Kaylyn White, Clover Park High School; and Katrina Woldseth, Franklin Pierce High School.