Hammond named WASHTO president

Western states’ transportation directors name Hammond as association president

Washington Transportation Secretary Paula Hammond was unanimously elected by transportation directors from 18 states to serve as president of the Western Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (WASHTO) during the organization’s annual meeting this week in Seattle.

Texas Transportation Department Executive Director Amadeo Saenz was also elected as vice president. Both officers’ terms will run through July 2010.

As WASHTO president, Hammond will work along with the other 17 states to influence federal transportation issues like SAFETEA-LU reauthorization, climate change policy and ARRA (stimulus) project delivery.

WASHTO membership includes departments of transportation from Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Idaho, Hawaii, Kansas, Montana, New Mexico, Nevada, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Oregon, South Dakota, Texas, Utah, Wyoming and Washington. The Association was organized to encourage a balanced transportation system across the western United States.