County delegation honored for youth commitment

A delegation from Pierce County will be honored in Washington, D.C. today for the county’s commitment to provide a healthy, safe and caring environment for young people. Pierce County was previously announced by America’s Promise: The Alliance for Youth as a winner of a first-ever national competition to identify 100 Best Communities for Young People.

“One of the most important things that people in any society can do is to make sure that they are taking care of the future of their children,” said Pierce County Executive John W. Ladenburg. “This award show that Pierce County is among the best in the nation at doing this. It’s another reason that Pierce County is one of the most livable places in the nation.”

To honor the 100 Best Communities for Young People, the America’s Promise Alliance is holding a national forum today that will culminate in an American Street Festival, where Pierce County and the other winning communities will be recognized for their work for children and youth. Pierce County will be represented by Louisa Erickson of the Alliance for Youth of Pierce County, Helen Myrick of the Greater Pierce County Community Network, Steve Brown of Bethel School District and high school student Molly Thompson.

The day’s activities will include a luncheon reception with special quests including members of Congress and seminars aimed at enabling the winning communities to interact with, and learn from, one another so they can take innovative ideas and approaches home to their communities. The evening American Street Festival will reflect the diversity and character of the honorees, celebrate their common bonds and capture what makes each of them unique. The festival will be held at the National Building Museum and proceeds from the event will go toward helping the children impacted by Katrina.

A complete list of winners can be found at The America’s Promise Alliance will engage in a yearlong celebration including a special day in each of the winning communities.