City of Destiny Awards This Tuesday

“The City Council meeting will adjourn Tuesday at 6:30 p.m. to honor 10 outstanding volunteers receiving awards at the 14th annual City of Destiny Awards ceremony.The awards recognize volunteers in eight categories. Winners include:- David Sparling, M.D., Adult Leadership;- Latasha Evans and Mary Alice Parks, tie in Youth Leadership;- Judy Quackenbush and Irv Shaffer, tie in Adult Sustained Service;- RaShelle Davis, Youth Sustained Service;- Tacoma-Pierce County Chaplaincy Program, Neighborhood or Community Group;- Frank Russell Company, Corporation;- City of Tacoma Employees for Norma Bretana Fundraiser, Employee Group;- And PAYO, Pilipino-American Youth Organization, Youth Group.A Council-appointed Citizen’s Recognition Committee selected the winners.The event takes place at the Theatre on the Square, 915 Broadway. TV Tacoma will videotape the event and replay it beginning June 19, continuing through July 2 at the following times:In Tacoma, cable channel 12 on AT&T and Click! Network:- Monday, June 19 and 26 at 3:00 p.m.- Tuesday, June 20 and 27 at noon- Wednesday, June 21 and 28 at 8:00 p.m.- Thursday, June 22 and 29 at 1:00 p.m.- Friday, June 23 and 30 at 9:00 p.m.- Saturday, June 24 and July 1 at 9:00 a.m.- Sunday, June 25 and July 2 at 8:00 p.m.”