Chamber names New Tacoma Award recipients

The Tacoma-Pierce County Chamber Friday announced the recipients of this year’s 2007 New Tacoma Awards during a ceremony that honors individuals, groups, and organizations working to improve downtown Tacoma by recognizing their efforts with awards presented in four categories.

This year’s nominees and recipient by each category include the following:

Ghillarducci Award — Recognizing successful new development, renovation or beautification


1. Paddy Coyne’s Irish Pub

2. Prium Companies

Recipient — Prium Companies

Popham Award — Recognizing the individual that has done the most to build “community spirit”


1. Lisa Fruichantie, Artist

2. Kevin Freitas,

3. Alexa Folsom-Hill, School of the Arts

4. Jeff Rounce, Business Examiner

Recipient — Lisa Fruichantie

Union Station Award — Recognizing leading organizations, companies or individuals that have built or sustained momentum for revitalization

1. Bill Evans, Tacoma City Council

2. Derek Young, Exit133

3. Felix Flannigan, Martin Luther King Housing Development Association

4. Jim Merritt, Merritt Architects

Recipient — Jim Merritt, Merritt Architects

Schoenfeld Award — Recognizing exemplary performance (and pizzazz!) as a retailer


1. Chuckal’s

2. Dame Lola

3. Matador Restaurant

4. LeRoy Jewelers / Art Stop

Recipient — LeRoy Jewelers / Art Stop

LeRoy Jewelers owner Steph Farber and his wife, Phyllis Harrison, received this year's New Tacoma Schoenfeld Award from the Tacoma-Pierce County Chamber. (PHOTO BY TODD MATTHEWS)