3 people join Tacoma Human Rights Commission

Tacoma City Council approved a resolution Tuesday appointing three people to Tacoma’s Human Rights Commission.

The 15-member commission is tasked with studying, investigating, and mediating community issues that may result from prejudice, bigotry, and discrimination, according to the City’s Web site. Commission members are appointed by Tacoma City Council; serve three-year terms; and include representatives of the general public and the employer, labor, religious, racial, ethnic, handicapped, and women’s groups in the city. The Human Rights Commission typically meets at 5:30 p.m. every third Thursday at Tacoma City Hall.

Earlier this year, the City issued a call for applicants to fill one unexpired term and two three-year terms on the commission. Tacoma City Council’s Public Safety, Human Services, and Education Committee interviewed five candidates — Kelsey Brennan, Kevin Cline, Darion Reese (seeking re-appointment), Tono Sablan, and Suzanne Skaar — during a public meeting on Thurs., Nov. 13 (see “5 candidates apply to serve on Tacoma Human Rights Commission,” Tacoma Daily Index, Nov. 12, 2014). The committee then forwarded its recommendations for appointments to the full city council for final confirmation (see “3 locals could join Tacoma Human Rights Commission,” Tacoma Daily Index, Dec. 5, 2014).

On Tuesday, Tacoma City Council re-appointed Reese to serve a three-year term to expire on Dec. 31, 2017; appointed April Nimick to a serve an unexpired term to expire on Dec. 31, 2016; and appointed Skaar to serve a three-year term to expire on Dec. 31, 2017.