3 locals join Tacoma Events and Recognitions Committee

Tacoma City Council approved a resolution Tuesday that appoints three local residents to the City of Tacoma’s Events and Recognitions Committee.

The nine-member committee oversees City-hosted events and celebrations, such as the Martin Luther King, Jr. Celebration and the City of Destiny Awards, by planning, reviewing, and evaluating events; engaging the community in its fund-raising efforts; and soliciting corporate and private sponsorships to leverage funds for these events. The committee consists of Tacoma residents recommended by Tacoma City Council’s Economic Development Committee and appointed by Tacoma City Council.

The City of Tacoma issued a call for applicants last month. The deadline expired on Fri., June 27, and four candidates applied: Beverly Bowen-Bennett (At-Large, Council District 3); Deirdre Evans (At-Large, Council District 1); Erin Lee (At-Large, Council District 2); and Twylia Westling (At-Large, Council District 2). Tacoma City Council’s Economic Development Committee interviewed the candidates earlier this month.

On Tuesday, Tacoma City Council officially appointed Bowen-Bennett, Evans, and Lee to the City of Tacoma’s Events and Recognitions Committee.

Tacoma City Councilmember Marty Campbell, who also chairs the council’s economic development committee, said the Events and Recognitions Committee was important because it works “to make sure our city can be out there and be engaged in recognizing people throughout the community.

“We had some very good applicants this time and I think this is going to bring a lot of flavor to the committee,” he added.