3 locals could be appointed to Tacoma Events and Recognitions Committee

Three local residents could be formally appointed to the City of Tacoma’s Events and Recognitions Committee this month.

The nine-member committee consists of Tacoma residents, with representatives from each of Tacoma’s five Council Districts, who bring a range of perspectives and expertise that focus on the City’s commitment to celebrate civic engagement and special observations. The committee serves as an advisory and action committee on matters pertaining to City-hosted events and special recognition programs. The committee is responsible for planning, reviewing, and evaluating events; engaging the community in its fundraising efforts; and soliciting corporate and private sponsorships to leverage funds for City-hosted events such as the Martin Luther King, Jr. Celebration and the City of Destiny Awards.

Events and Recognitions Committee members are recommended by Tacoma City Council’s Economic Development Committee and appointed by Tacoma City Council.

The City of Tacoma issued a call for applications last month. The deadline expired on Fri., June 27, and four candidates applied: Beverly Bowen-Bennett (At-Large, Council District 3); Deirdre Evans (At-Large, Council District 1); Erin Lee (At-Large, Council District 2); and Twylia Westling (At-Large, Council District 2). Tacoma City Council’s Economic Development Committee interviewed the candidates earlier this month.

Tacoma City Council is tentatively scheduled to vote on Tues., July 29, on a resolution that would appoint Bowen-Bennett, Evans, and Lee to the City of Tacoma’s Events and Recognitions Committee.