2018 New Tacoma awards recipients announced

Tacoma-Pierce County Chamber’s 2018 New Tacoma awards recipients announced


Businesses, organizations and individuals who make outstanding contributions to downtown Tacoma were nominated as part of the annual New Tacoma Awards.

This year, the Tacoma-Pierce County Chamberhonored nominees and recipients at the Chamber Luncheon on Friday, July 13rd, 2018 at the Pacific Grill Events Center.

The 2018 New Tacoma Awards recipients are:

* Ghilarducci Award: Alma Mater Tacoma

* Popham Award: Dr. Ali Mordarres, University of Washington Tacoma

* Public Places Award: Hilltop Street Fair

* Schoenfeld Award: 7Seas Brewing

*  Union Station Award: InfoBlox

– Tacoma-Pierce County Chamber 

Photo by Morf Morford

Photo by Morf Morford


Tacoma’s hills are alive with the sound of changes

By Morf Morford
Tacoma Daily Index

If you think not much is going on in Tacoma lately, you have obviously not been paying attention.

I spoke to one person recently who had grown up here and, after several years, had come back for a wedding.

He had not seen Point Ruston or all the changes in the Stadium District, and the sight of all of the building cranes in downtown Tacoma was astounding to him.

Yes, those signs of development are dramatic and highly visible and certainly welcome, but for those of us who live here, the bigger, more life-changing developments are those business and opportunities that highlight what we already have here.

Each year Tacoma-Pierce County Chamber recognizes businesses with the most impact.

Large or small, established business or dedicated individual or neighborhood group, these people and organizations have lent their hand to making Tacoma a more stable, prosperous, attractive and welcoming place.

Take a look at this list of previous year’s recipients, some will be immediately recognized, some may not, some have established even deeper roots, while some have moved on or changed in some way. Some have even left and returned!

Ghilarducci Award: Recognizing new development, renovation, or beautification

2017- Titus Will/RheinHaus

2016- Old Spaghetti Factory

2015 – UWT YMCA

2014 – Foss Waterway Seaport’s Rehabilitation

2013 – Murray Morgan Bridge Rehabilitation

2012 – LeMay – America’s Car Museum

2011 – The Joy Building

2010 – Pacific Plaza

2009 – Hotel Murano

2008 – The Sirius Group

2007 – Prium Companies

2006 – Avanti Spa

2005 – Tacoma Art Museum

2004 – Thea’s Landing

Popham Award: Recognizing the individual that has done the most to build community spirit

2017- Melanie Dressel

2016- Marguerite Giguere

2015 – Dr. Debra Friedman

2014 – Justin Mayfield, Downtown Block Party

2013 – Sue Schaeffer, Tacoma Waterfront Assoc.

2012 – Tim Waer

2011 – Tammy Blount

2010 – Derek Young

2009 – Benjii Bittle

2008 – Layne Alfanso

2007 – Lisa Fruichiante

2006 – Patricia Lecy-Davis

2005 – Marty Campbell

2004 – Sondra Purcell

Schoenfeld Award: Recognizing exemplary performance of pizzazz as a retailer or restaurateur

2017- Stocklist

2016- Elemental Pizza

2015 – The Olive Branch Cafe

2014 – Tinkertopia

2013 – Dorky’s Bar Arcade

2012 – The Swiss

2011 – Harmon Hub

2010 – Doyle’s Public House

2010 – Dragonfly

2009 – hello, cupcake

2008 – Grassis Flowers and Gifts

2007 – LeRoy Jewelers and The Art Stop

2006 – urbanXchange

2005 – Aroma Coffee

2004 – heel! Shoes

Union Station Award: Recognizing a leading organization, company, or individual that has built or sustained momentum for revitalization

2017- Amy McBride

2016- Su Dowie

2015 – SiteCrafting

2014 – Children’s Museum of Tacoma

2013 – Tacoma Runners

2012 – First Night Tacoma-Pierce County

2011 – Theater District Association

2010 – Stan Selden

2010 – Tacoma Farmer’s Market

2009 – Gintz Group

2008 – Eric Cederstrand

2007 – Jim Merritt

2006 – Grand Cinema

2005 – Jon Tartaglia

2004 – University of Washington Tacoma

Public Places Award: Recognizing the best activation of a public park, open space, or area in the public right-of-way

2017-Brew Five Three

2016- Beautiful Angle

2015- Downtown Farmers Market

2014 – Downtown On the Go’s Walk Tacoma

2013 – Frost Park Chalk Off

2012 – Wright Park Sprayground & Playground

2011 – Spaceworks Tacoma