White Pass included in 2009 America's Byways designations

U.S. Transportation Secretary Ray LaHood today announced 42 new designations to the America’s Byways collection, including five All-American Roads and 37 National Scenic Byways in 26 states. Washington State’s White Pass was included in the selection. This increases the number of America’s Byways to 151.

“By enriching the National Scenic Byways program with their own unique historical or aesthetic quality, these new additions help our national road system tell our country’s story,” said Secretary LaHood. “These routes continue to offer Americans exciting new opportunities to explore the nation – whether they travel close to home or across the country.”

With Massachusetts and New Jersey included in the 2009 designations, 46 states have America’s Byways in them.

Created in 1991, the National Scenic Byways program is a collaborative effort to help recognize, preserve and enhance selected roads throughout the United States. It has funded 2,672 projects for state and nationally designated byway routes in 50 states, Puerto Rico and the District of Columbia.

The U.S. Department of Transportation recognizes certain roads as All-American Roads or National Scenic Byways based on one or more archeological, cultural, historic, natural, recreational and scenic qualities.

For more information on the 2009 All-American Road and National Scenic Byways designations, visit http://www.byway.org .