UWT seeks nominations for Business Leadership Awards

Nominations are now being accepted for the fifth annual Business Leadership Awards, presented by the Milgard School of Business at UW Tacoma. The presenting sponsor is Heritage Bank and media sponsor is The News Tribune.

Nominations for this year’s awards will be accepted in four categories: Lifetime Achievement, Business Leader of the Year (for individuals leading an organization with more than 50 employees), Small Business Leader of the Year (for individuals leading an organization with fewer than 50 employees) and Non-Profit Leader of the Year. Winners will be announced at the Business Leadership Awards dinner on Apr. 5, 2006. The Small Business and Non-Profit Leader of the Year awards are new this year.

Anyone may submit a nomination. The deadline is Jan. 31. Nomination forms are available online at http://www.tacoma.washington.edu/business.

This year’s Business Leadership awards will be presented during a gala dinner event held at the Greater Tacoma Convention Center. A panel of judges comprised of Milgard School of Business faculty and advisory board members will select the awardees.

The awards recognize the achievements of business leaders from Pierce, Kitsap, Thurston and South King counties and strengthen the relationship between the business community and the UW Tacoma, according to Milgard School of Business Dean Shahrokh Saudagaran.

“The Milgard School is dedicated to training the business leaders of tomorrow, so it makes sense for us to recognize and celebrate the outstanding leaders of today, right here in the South Puget Sound region. The individuals we honor set the standard for the local business community.”

Saudagaran said. “These leaders are making a wide range of contributions in the region, and we are proud to honor them.”

Tickets for the Business Leadership Awards dinner will be $125. For more information or to submit a nomination, contact the Milgard School of Business at (253) 692-5630 or visit www.tacoma.washington.edu/business.

Previous winners of the Lifetime Achievement Award are Bill Phillip, retired CEO of Columbia Bank; the late Fred Haley, former chairman emeritus of Brown & Haley, Inc.; the late Gary Milgard, former chairman of Milgard Manufacturing; and George Russell, chairman of the board of Frank Russell Co. Previous winners of the Business Leader of the Year award are Robert Magee, chairman of American Shipping Group; Don Johnson, vice president and general manager of Simpson Tacoma Kraft; Mark Crisson, utilities director for the City of Tacoma; and Bruce Greene, general manager of Advanced Tel-Com Group. Greene has since moved on to a new job.

The News Tribune and Heritage Bank are the premier sponsors of the Business Leadership Awards. Other sponsors include benefactors Bratrud Middleton and Sound Credit Union, and patrons Milgard Manufacturing, Simpson Tacoma Kraft and Totem Ocean Trailer Express.