UW Tacoma professor named Fulbright scholar

University of Washington Tacoma Professor Charles Emlet has been selected as a Fulbright Visiting Research Chair in Science and the Environment at McMaster University in Ontario, Canada. He is the sixth UW Tacoma faculty member selected as a Fulbright scholar.

Emlet was granted the award for his project “Understanding the Lived Experiences of Older Adults Living with HIV in Ontario, Canada: An Examination of Strengths and Resilience in a Vulnerable Population.” This project will examine the lived experiences of older, HIV-positive Canadians through in-depth qualitative interviews. Emlet will conduct his research during the 2012-13 academic year.

Emlet joined the faculty of UW Tacoma’s Social Work program in 1999. He teaches courses in aging, HIV/AIDS care and research methods. He has published more than 50 journal articles and book chapters and serves on the editorial boards of the Journal of HIV/AIDS and Social Services and the Journal of Gerontological Social Work. The focus of his research has been on HIV/AIDS and aging. In 2004, he received the University of Washington Tacoma’s Distinguished Research Award.

The Fulbright Program, founded in 1946, is the flagship international educational exchange program sponsored by the U.S. government and is designed to “increase mutual understanding between the people of the United States and the people of other countries.” Fulbright scholars are chosen for their academic merit and leadership potential and given the opportunity to study, teach and conduct research, exchange ideas and contribute to finding solutions to shared international concerns.

Fulbright Canada, a joint, bi-national, treaty-based organization created to encourage mutual understanding between Canada and the United States of America through academic and cultural exchange. Fulbright Canada is supported by the Canadian Government, through Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada, by the United States Government, through the Department of State, and by a diverse group of corporate sponsors, charitable trusts, and university partners. It is governed by an independent Board of Directors and operates out of Ottawa.