The Swiss, LeMay Car Museum among New Tacoma Award recipients

Businesses, organizations and individuals who make outstanding contributions to downtown Tacoma were recognized with the annual New Tacoma Awards at the Tacoma-Pierce County Chamber’s monthly luncheon held Friday at the Pacific Grill Events Center.

This year’s New Tacoma Awards recipients include The Swiss, which received the Schoenfeld Award for exemplary performance and pizzazz as a retailer; LeMay–America’s Car Museum, which received the Ghilarducci Award for successful new development, renovation or beautification; First Night Tacoma-Pierce County, which received the Union Station Award for leading organizations, companies or individuals that have built or sustained momentum for revitalization; Tim Waer of Tacoma South Sound Sports, who received the Popham Award for the individual who has done the most to build community spirit; and Wright Park Sprayground and Playground, which received the first Public Places Award for the best activation of a public park, open space or area within the public right-of-way.

Keeping with a tradition newly started last year, the awards themselves are glass sculptures hand-crafted by Hilltop Artists and sponsored by Absher Construction Company. The Luncheon was sponsored by Cascade Regional Blood Services.

The Tacoma-Pierce County Chamber's 2012 New Tacoma Award recipients