Tacoma seeks applicants for newly established Transportation Commission

Tacoma City Council is looking for 11 members for the newly established Transportation Commission.

The Transportation Commission will advise Council on transportation-related matters, such as short-term and long-range transportation planning, compliance with local, regional and federal transportation regulations, bike, pedestrian and mass transit-related planning initiatives, and parking and capital improvement plans.

The commission will consist of 11 members — nine voting members appointed by the City Council who are City residents, with representatives from each of the City’s five Council Districts, who bring a range of perspectives and expertise that focus on the City’s long-term vision for mobility options throughout the City, and two non-voting members appointed by the City Manager. It is recommended that the members appointed reflect the following categories of special interest/discipline: professional engineering sector, construction/private business sector, bike and pedestrian/mass transit sector, planning/urban growth sector, environmental/sustainability sector, general community and ADA community.

Regularly scheduled meeting dates and times have not yet been established for this commission.

Applications must be submitted to the City Clerk’s Office by Friday, June 21, 2013. To apply, please visit cityoftacoma.org/cbcapplication or contact April Larsen at (253) 591-5167, City Clerk’s Office, Room 220, Municipal Building, 747 Market St., Tacoma, WA 98402.