Tacoma Port Commission elects 2010 officers

Port of Tacoma commissioners today welcomed their newest member, Don Meyer, and elected Don Johnson as Commission President for 2010. Meyer was sworn in by Pierce County Superior Court Judge John McCarthy at today’s first commission meeting of the year. Pierce County voters elected Meyer in November, replacing longtime Commissioner Ted Bottiger, who chose not to run for re-election. Connie Bacon and Dick Marzano were re-elected to the other two commission seats up for a vote.

Port of Tacoma’s five commissioners serve four-year terms. Officer positions rotate yearly. The 2010 commission includes:

— Don Johnson, president

— Connie Bacon, vice president

— Dick Marzano, secretary

— Don Meyer, assistant secretary

— Clare Petrich, assistant secretary