Statewide cost increase for county recording documents

The cost of recording documents is going up in all 39 Washington counties. Pierce County Auditor Pat McCarthy announced that because of Washington Legislature action earlier this year, an $8 surcharge will be added to all recordings effective July 22. First page recording fees will increase from $32 to $40 for most documents. Fees vary by document type, and recording customers can obtain specific information from the fee sheet on the Auditor’s Website ( The Legislature enacted the surcharge to generate money for county homeless programs and the state’s Affordable Housing for All and Home Security Fund accounts. A memo to the county’s recording customers is attached in PDF format.