State seeks nominations for outstanding achievements in creating vibrant communities

The state Department of Community, Trade and Economic Development (CTED) is seeking nominations for the 2007 Governor’s Smart Communities awards.

These awards recognize outstanding efforts in creating quality communities through achieving the goals of the state Growth Management Act. The deadline for submitting nominations is 5 p.m. Aug. 16.

Governor Chris Gregoire presented the first Smart Communities awards last year to the cities of Bainbridge Island, Redmond, Bremerton, and Woodinville, along with Jefferson County and the King County Housing Authority. Snohomish County also received Special Recognition.

The Smart Communities awards program was established last year, marking the 15th anniversary of the Growth Management Act.

“Local governments in Washington are making good progress in their growth management planning,” said Juli Wilkerson, director of CTED. “We look forward to seeing this year’s nominations to learn more about how communities are achieving their visions for the future.”

Nomination forms, instructions and other information about the awards are available at or by contacting Julie Knackstedt at (360) 725-3000 or Award recipients will be recognized at a reception in the fall.