State and South Sound Honors and Awards

“Governor’s Distinguished Management Leadership Awards WinnersGovernor Gary Locke has announced the recipients of the 2000 Governor’s Distinguished Management Leadership Award. The award recognizes state government managers who demonstrate outstanding leadership in providing quality service to the public.Twenty-six managers from 16 state agencies were honored this year with awards in one of two categories. Sixteen were selected as Distinguished Managers for outstanding performance and results achieved during the past year. Ten were selected in the Sustaining Leader category, recognizing long-standing leadership in state government.Distinguished Manager Winners:Bob Barwin Dept. of Ecology, Yakima Julie Boyer Dept. of Natural Resources (formerly of GA), Olympia Denise Doty Dept. of Corrections, Olympia Liz Begert Dunbar Dept. of Social & Health Services, Olympia Dave Jansen Dept. of Ecology, Olympia Bill Kehoe Dept. of Licensing, Olympia Marty Knorr Washington State Patrol, Olympia Paul Knox Dept. of Community, Trade & Economic Development, Olympia Sharnelle Moore Employment Security Department, Olympia Leni Oman Dept. of Transportation, Olympia Susan Price Dept. of Revenue, Olympia John Saunders Dept. of Information Services, Olympia Christina Valadez Dept. of Personnel, Olympia Stella Vasquez Dept. of Social & Health Services, Yakima Jennie Weber Employment Security Department, Walla Walla Yolanda Wilson Office of Financial Management, OlympiaSustaining Leader Winners:Julia Graham Dept. of Personnel, Olympia Janet Leach-Ruth Employment Security Department, Olympia Mike McVicker Dept. of Information Services, Olympia Marilyn Perry Dept. of Social & Health Services, Tacoma Dan Peyton Dept. of Social & Health Services, Everett Eric Slagle Dept. of Health, Olympia Greg Sorlie Dept. of Ecology, Olympia Shelagh Taylor Dept. of Labor and Industries, Olympia Pat Terry Dept. of Social & Health Services, Olympia Don Whiting Secretary of State’s Office, OlympiaTransit Agency Wins Award for Alternate Fuel UsePierce Transit has won the Preserve Planet Earth award from the Downtown Tacoma Rotary Club 8. The award was presented in recognition of the agency’s commitment to using alternative fuel to power its buses. Pierce Transit was the first transit agency in the nation to use non-polluting compressed natural gas instead of diesel fuel, starting in 1986. Today it operates a fleet of 117 CNG buses out of a total fleet of 206 buses. Compared to diesel buses, CNG buses emit no soot or particulate matter; 90 percent less nitrogen oxide and carbon dioxide; and 80 percent less smog-producing hydrocarbon emissions.Pierce County Flood Rating Now Best in U.S.Pierce is the first county to receive a Class 5 in the National Flood Insurance Program’s Community Rating System, making it the best-rated county government.The rating brings a 25 percent flood insurance discount for property owners in Special Flood Hazard areas.Under the Community Rating System, cities and counties receive credit for policies and activities aimed at reducing flood risk and mitigating the worst effects of future flooding. Pierce County’s floodplain management practices under the direction of Water Programs Manager Tim Ramsaur earned sufficient points to win the high rating.National flood insurance is available in 18,000 communities, and the program is credited with helping reduce flood damage by $800 million a year. The Community Rating System is designed to recognize and encourage community floodplain management activities exceeding the minimum standards.While Pierce is the first county to achieve Class 5, two cities ¯ Tulsa, Okla., and Fort Myers, Fla., have earned the same rating.Tacoma Photographer Wins With Great ShotsKevin Strode from Strode-McGowan Photography has won a number of awards recently at the Professional Photographers of Washington 2000 Print Competition.Strode took the Best Advertising Illustration, Best Commercial Photograph, Best Single Commercial Image, and the Highest Aggregate Commercial Score. He also won two Kodak Gallery Awards. Pierce County Airport – Thun Field – Takes FAA Achievement HonorsThe Pierce County Airport – Thun Field, received an Achievement Award from the Federal Aviation Administration’s Northwest Mountain Region. The award was one of five presented in the region, which contains 646 public use airports.The award cited the airport, located south of Puyallup, for enthusiasm and perseverance in improving the safety and capacity of general aviation facilities.Pierce County Public Works and Utilities’ Transportation Services Division under the direction of airport administrator Bob Snyder operates the airport. Thun, son of the airport’s namesake, manages the facility. The Washington State Department of Transportation’s Airport Division in 1996 named Thun Airport Manager of the Year.Snyder said the Pierce County executive and council have given the airport exceptional support by providing additional dollars through the real estate excise tax and by developing and approving a new airport county code.We are quite proud to have been chosen out of such an impressive list of regional airports, Snyder said.”