SBSC releases Washington delegation's voting scores

The Small Business Survival Committee’s (SBSC) annual scorecard rating how members of Congress voted during 2001 on key small business issues – published in last Thursday’s paper – has provided specific scores for members of Washington’s delegation.
SBSC scorecard rates lawmakers based on 12 key votes in the U.S. House of Representatives and 12 votes in the U.S. Senate impacting small businesses.
Included in this years ratings are votes on issues such as reducing taxes and regulations, death tax elimination, capital gains tax relief, expanding U.S. markets overseas, reducing dependence on foreign energy, and making health care more affordable.
Lawmakers who voted in favor of small businesses at least 80 percent of the time are recognized by SBSC as “Champions of Small Business.”
In Washington, that included Reps.Doc Hastings, George Nethercutt and Jennifer Dunn.
In Washington, the state’s U.S. House delegation registered scores ranging from 0 percent to 100 percent.
Here is a list of the state’s representatives and their scores: Rep. Jay Inslee, 0 percent; Rep. Jim McDermott, 0 percent; Rep. Brian Baird, 8 percent; Rep. Norm Dicks, 8 percent; Rep. Adam Smith, 17 percent; Rep. Rick Larsen, 25 percent; Rep. George Nethercutt, 92 percent; Rep. Jennifer Dunn, 92 percent; and Rep. Doc Hastings, 100 percent.
Meanwhile, U.S. Sen. Patty Murray scored a 9 percent, and Sen. Maria Cantwell scored 0 percent.
As reported last week, Washington state’s delegation claimed an average score of 32 percent which tied for 41st among the 50 state congressional delegations.