Rural Pierce County set to Click!

Cable TV and Internet users in parts of unincorporated Pierce County can soon subscribe to Tacoma’s Click! Network under an ordinance passed by the County Council Tuesday.

The ordinance (2007-20s) authorizes the County Executive to grant Click! Network a nonexclusive franchise to build, operate and maintain a cable system in the Brown’s Point/Dash Point, Summit View, Summit-Waller, Midland, Parkland and South Hill areas.

Operated by Tacoma Power, Click! currently provides cable TV and high-speed Internet service to residents in Tacoma, University Place, Fircrest, and parts of Lakewood and Fife.
In return for using Pierce County’s roads and right-of-way for its network, Click! will give 5 percent of the revenue from its new county customers back to Pierce County in the form of a franchise fee, which will be paid quarterly.

C-RCC, Pierce County’s government-access channel that broadcasts County Council meetings and other local government programming, has moved to Click! channel 22 as part of the franchise agreement. C-RCC can now be seen on channel 22 on both the Comcast and Click! Network systems and on channel 78 on the Rainier Connect system.