Pierce County Executive McCarthy named Sound Transit Board Chair

The Sound Transit Board of Directors Thursday unanimously elected Pierce County Executive Pat McCarthy to serve as its chair for the next two years effective Jan. 1.

“I look forward to working with leaders across the region to continue Sound Transit’s track record of delivering major projects and serving thousands of riders each day,” McCarthy said. “Expanding public transit services is critical to ensuring the Puget Sound region has the infrastructure it needs to move people and goods as we attract new investments, jobs and residents in the years ahead. The opportunities ahead of us are great as we work together to navigate the challenges created by the recession.”

By unanimous vote the Board’s two new vice chairs will be Snohomish County Executive Aaron Reardon, the outgoing chair, and longtime Board member Julia Patterson of the King County Council.

Pierce County Executive Pat McCarthy. (FILE PHOTO BY TODD MATTHEWS)