Petrich, Johnson win Port Commission races

Pierce County voters have elected Don Johnson and incumbent Clare Petrich to the Port of Tacoma Commission in the Nov. 6 general election.

While Petrich was first elected to the Port Commission in 1995, Johnson is new to the position.

He will take the place of longtime Commissioner Jack Fabulich, who will retire at the close of 2007 after 31 years on the Port Commission.

Election results are not final until certified by the Pierce County Auditor on Nov. 27.

With 37 years of executive management experience, Johnson will soon retire as Vice President and General Manager of Simpson Tacoma Kraft, a leading Tacoma pulp and paper producer. He holds a Bachelor’s degree in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Washington. In addition to his professional accomplishments, Johnson serves on the Goodwill Industries Foundation, MultiCare Foundation, World Trade Center-Tacoma Board, the University of Washington Tacoma Advisory Board, and he is active with the Tacoma-Pierce County Chamber of Commerce. He is a past Board Chair for the United Way of Pierce County.

Petrich was elected to the Port Commission in 1995. A graduate of Manhattanville College, New York, she later earned a master’s degree from the University of Virginia. She is co-founder of the Commencement Bay Maritime Fest and served as Chair for Tall Ships Tacoma 2005. Petrich is Secretary of the Trade Development Alliance of Greater Seattle and serves on the Board of Directors for the Tacoma-Pierce County Convention and Visitors Bureau and the Economic Development Board for Tacoma-Pierce County. She is President of the Washington-Szechuan Sister State Association and a fellow of the American Leadership Forum.