Nominations sought for New Tacoma Awards

It’s time again to honor the individuals, organizations and businesses leading the revitalization of downtown Tacoma with the annual New Tacoma Awards. The New Tacoma Awards honor recipients in the following categories: Public Places Award — Recognizing the best activation of a public park, open space or area in the public right-of-way; Ghilarducci Award — Recognizing successful new development, renovation or beautification; Popham Award — Recognizing the individual that has done the most to build “community spirit”; Union Station Award — Recognizing leading organizations, companies or individuals that have built or sustained momentum for revitalization; and Schoenfeld Award — Recognizing exemplary performance and pizzazz as a retailer or restaurateur.

Award nominations are due no later than 4:30 p.m. on Feb. 28. A complete description of the award categories, rules, and an on-line nomination form is available at . A complete list of past winners is available online at . The 2010 New Tacoma Award winners will be recognized at the City Center Luncheon on April 1 at 11:30 a.m. at the Courtyard by Marriott, Cascade Ballroom, 1515 Commerce St. The event is sponsored by Absher Construction Company. To reserve your seat at the City Center Luncheon, register on-line at or contact Cathy at the Chamber at or (253) 627-2175.