Marzano named Port of Tacoma commission president

Port of Tacoma commissioners have named Dick Marzano to lead the 2012 Commission. Marzano, who was elected to the Commission in November 1995, succeeds Commissioner Connie Bacon as president.

A Tacoma longshore worker for almost 40 years, Marzano served as president of the International Longshore and Warehouse Union Local 23 for six years. Marzano is a former member of the Freight Mobility Strategic Investment Board, appointed by both Washington Govs. Gary Locke and Chris Gregoire. He serves on the six-member executive committee of the Washington Public Ports Association, and is past president of that committee. He is also a member of the Puget Sound Regional Council, the Tacoma Chapter of the Propeller Club of the United States, and a former board member of the Foss Waterway Development Authority.

The Port’s five commissioners serve four-year terms. Officer positions rotate yearly. The 2012 Port of Tacoma Commission includes Dick Marzano, president; Don Meyer, vice president; Clare Petrich secretary; Don Johnson, first assistant secretary; andConnie Bacon, second assistant secretary.

Port of Tacoma Commissioner Dick Marzano. (PHOTO COURTESY PORT OF TACOMA)