Make your nominations for City of Destiny Awards

Do you know someone who’s an outstanding volunteer? This person gives time, energy and effort freely, hoping to better his or her community and expecting nothing in return. Please consider the people and groups you know who have made a difference to our community and take the time to nominate them for a 2008 City of Destiny Award.
City of Destiny Awards, given by the City of Tacoma, acknowledge the hardworking, deserving volunteers who make Tacoma a great place to live. In 2007, awards winners included a 10-year-old boy who raised $85,000 for a rocking chair fund at Mary Bridge Children’s Hospital; a woman who helped form what became the wildly successful Relay for Life events; a teenager who speaks out about gang prevention, abstinence and the importance of encouraging Latino students to attend school; and a group of neighbors who rescued their community park from living any longer as a haven for bullying, attacks, theft and drug activities.
Those local heroes are all around us. It’s important for our community to recognize its volunteers, and this public recognition honors their contributions. Please take the time to nominate a person or group you know for a City of Destiny Award. Nomination forms are due by Jan. 21, and available online at
The Citizens Recognition Committee will choose the four individual and four group winners from the submitted nominations, and the Tacoma City Council will recognize all of the winners at a spring ceremony.
The City of Tacoma has honored outstanding volunteers through its City of Destiny Awards program since 1987. An appointed Citizens Recognition Committee selects the winners. Nominees must have:
— Volunteered time and energy, not money.
— Volunteered without financial compensation for their work.
— Volunteered within Tacoma’s city limits.
— Volunteered within the past 12 months in projects described for Leadership and Group categories.
— Volunteered in a different category if they have previously received a City of Destiny award, or in the same category seven years after receiving a City of Destiny award.
A list of past recipients is available online at .