Dikc Marzano new Port of Tacoma Commission president

Dick Marzano Thursday was appointed president of the Port of Tacoma Commission by his fellow commissioners at the port’s first commission meeting of the year, held Thursday, Jan. 9.

Marzano replaces long-time Port Commissioner Jack Fabulich as commission president.

Positions among commissioners rotate yearly, based on procedures approved by the Port Commission in 1999.

Fabulich will serve as assistant secretary in 2003.

A Tacoma longshoreman for 33 years, Marzano was first elected to the port commission in November 1995.

He was also appointed by Gov. Gary Locke to be a member of the Freight Mobility Strategic Investment Board, which is working to create a comprehensive and complete state program to assist freight movement between and among national and international markets that enhance trade opportunities.

Marzano served as president of the International Longshore and Warehouse Union Local 23 from 1989-95, and is currently a member of the Tacoma Chapter of the Propeller Club of the United States.

He also serves on the Board of Directors of the Hospitality Kitchen at St. Leo’s Catholic Church and of the Foss Waterway Development Authority.
The Port of Tacoma Commission for 200 include Dick Marzano, president; Clare Petrich, vice president; Ted Bottiger, secretary; Connie Bacon, assistant secretary; and Jack Fabulich, assistant secretary.

Port of Tacoma Commissioners serve four-year terms.

Two positions, those currently held by Fabulich (Position 3) and Petrich (Position 5), will be up for election in November 2003.

The five-member Port of Tacoma Commission is the governing body of the Port of Tacoma.

The commission sets policy and authorizes major expenditures.