City of Destiny Award winners honored

A group of middle school students uniting to heal a community. One man responsible for helping minority students earn a college degree. Union members and a business that brighten up Tacoma neighborhoods.

These and other 2003 City of Destiny Award winners demonstrate boundless generosity and community spirit.

At the 17th annual City of Destiny Awards, Mayor Bill Baarsma and the City Council honored four individuals and four groups for outstanding volunteer service they provide to the community.

At a ceremony Tuesday night at Theatre on the Square, City Council members presented awards to winners that the Citizens’ Recognition Committee selected from 51 nominations.

This year’s honorees are:
R. Merle Palmer (adult leadership); Julia Rhee (youth leadership); Warren Stolaroff (adult sustained service); Jon Weiss (youth service); Tacoma Adventist Community Service Volunteers (neighborhood or community group); Parker Paint (corporation, business or entrepreneur); Brotherhood Committee – IBEW Local No. 76 (employee or union group); and Baker Middle School sixth graders: The Harbor Flag Project (youth group).