Chamber's New Tacoma Awards April 17

Join the Tacoma-Pierce County Chamber April 17 at 11:30 a.m. at the Pacific Grill Event Center, 1530 Pacific Ave., for this quarter’s City Center Luncheon to learn about what’s coming soon to downtown Tacoma and honor community leaders with New Tacoma Awards.

Dominic Dobson, Chief Advancement Officer for the Harold E. LeMay Museum, is the keynote speaker for the 6th Annual New Tacoma Awards. He will be speaking about what the LeMay Car Museum means for the future of the City of Tacoma. The Luncheon will also feature presentations on the future of Tacoma’s Farmer’s Markets and Bike to Work Month in May.

Each year the Tacoma-Pierce County Chamber’s New Tacoma Awards recognize businesses and individuals that make outstanding contributions to downtown Tacoma.

The four award categories are:

1. Ghillarducci Award – recognizing successful new development, renovation or beautification.

2009 Nominees include:

— 505 Broadway

— America’s Credit Union


— Rainier Connect

— East “D” Street Grade Separation

— Maxwell’s

— Pacific Grill Event Center

— Pacific Plaza

— William W. Philip Hall, University of Washington Tacoma

— Hotel Murano

— R4 Graphics

— Stadium 302 Condominiums, 302 Stadium Way North

— TRA Medical Imaging

2. Union Station Award – recognizing leading organizations, companies or individuals that have built or sustained momentum for revitalization.

2009 Nominees include:

— Benjii Bittle, Deputy Executive Director of the Broadway Center for the Performing Arts

— David Boe, Principal, Boe Architects

— David Curry, Executive Director of Tacoma Rescue Mission.

— Ian Morrison, Deputy Director of Outreach, Office of the Governor

— Jeff Brown, President, BCRA

— Jeff Rounce, Publisher, Business Examiner

— Jim Merritt, Principal, MerrittArch

— Melanie Manista-Rushforth

— Rollie Herman, Westpac Marine Services

— Tammy Blount, President and CEO, Tacoma Regional Convention and Visitor Bureau

— The little girl that suggested the Christmas Light recycling at ZooLights.

3. Popham Award – recognizing the individual that has done the most to build community spirit.

2009 Nominees include:



— Gintz Group

— Healthy Buzz

— The Rock Pizza

— Vernon and Associates Court Reporters

4. Schoenfeld Award – recognizing exemplary performance and pizazz as a retailer.

2009 Nominees include:

— Blitz Flowers

— Doyle’s Public House

— Dragonfly

— Hello, Cupcake

— J Robbins Florist

— Crystal Voyage

— Mecconi’s Tavern

— The Mix Lounge

To reserve your seat register on line at or contact Janice Hutchens at the Chamber at or (253) 627-2175.