Chamber announces New Tacoma Award winners

The Tacoma-Pierce County Chamber announced this year’s recipients of the New Tacoma Awards during an annual luncheon at City Club in downtown Tacoma. The awards ceremony, held annually since 2004, recognizes individuals and businesses who work to improve the central business district.
The awards are divided into four categories:
1. Ghillarducci Award — Recognizing successful new development, renovation or beautification. This year’s nominees included 505 Broadway / The Sirius Group; Gintz Group; and Metropolitan Real Estate Development. 505 Broadway / The Sirius Group received the award.
2. Popham Award — Recognizing the individual who has done the most to build “community spirit.” This year’s nominees included Layne Alfonso, GeoEngineers; Alan Gorsuch, Sanford & Sons Antiques; Thomas Rogers, Youth Marine Foundation; and Kevin Freitas / Layne Alfonso received the award.
3. Schoenfeld Award — Recognizing exemplary performance and pizzazz as a retailer. This year’s nominees included Tacoma Art Supply; and Grassi’s Flowers and Gifts. Grassi’s Flowers and Gifts received the award.
4. Union Station Award — Recognizing leading organizations, companies or individuals that have built or sustained momentum for revitalization. This year’s nominees included India Mahal Restaurant; and Eric Cederstrand / Colliers International. Both India Mahal and Eric Cederstrand / Colliers International received the award.
The Popham Lifetime Achievement Award was given to Paul Ellis, the Chamber’s former metropolitan development director. Ellis left the Chamber earlier this year to work as the economic development director for the City of Columbia, in Illinois. He accepted the award in a video-taped message broadcast during the luncheon. Similarly, Chamber president David Graybill announced Chelsea Levy has been hired as the new metropolitan development director. She begins work this week.