Baarsma to attend Mayors' Institute on City Design

It seems only appropriate that Tacoma Mayor Bill Baarsma will attend the Mayors’ Institute on City Design, considering all the construction going on in the city.

Baarsma will join seven other mayors and a team of experts from around the country to discuss approaches to issues such as mixed-use redevelopment, housing, parking, revitalizing a downtown plaza and developing a master plan.

The mayors will take advantage of insights and resources from other mayors and a resource team that represents a range of disciplines, from public policy, city planning, architecture and landscape architecture, and urban design.

The Mayors’ Institute on City Design provides a platform through which mayors present a case study of a specific critical issue facing their city and return to address the issue with greater insights and new creative approaches.

“The best way to learn in collaboratively,” Baarsma said. “The institute provides access to the collective wisdom of mayors and experts from a wide range of disciplines.”

Baarsma will travel to Charleston, S.C. April 10-12 to attend the program, which has created in partnership with the National Endowment for the Arts, United States Conference of Mayors and the American Architecture Foundation.

Other mayors attending this session are: Irma Anderson, Richmond, Calif.; Marty Blum, Santa Barbara, Calif; Raymond Caballero, El Paso, Texas; Ed Garza, San Antonio, Texas; Karen Geraghty, Portland, Maine; Doug Scott, Rockford, Ill.; and Francis Slay, St. Louis, Mo.

Resource team members are: Laurie Hawkinson, Smith-Miller + Hawkinson; Ray Huff, Huff + Gooden Architects; Mary Margaret Jones, Hargreaves Associates; Maureen McAvey, Urban Land Institute; Ignacio Bunster-Ossa, Wallace Roberts & Todd; Robert Peck, Washington Board of Trade; Richard Sommer, Harvard Graduate School of Design; and Alex Washburn, W Architecture.

The Mayors’ Institute on City Design offers two national institute sessions and four regional institute sessions each year.

For more information, log on to: