Applications sought for Planning Commission

Applications are being accepted to fill two positions on the Pierce County Planning Commission.

Members of the seven-member commission represent the seven County Council districts and make recommendations to the council on planning-related matters.

The open positions represent Districts 3 and 4 and applicants must reside within those districts.

To verify your district, please call the Council Office (798-7777) or Elections Office (798-7430).

District 3 consists generally of parts of South Hill, west Graham, Ashford, Elbe, Eatonville, Elk Plain, Frederickson and east and south Spanaway.
District 4 consists generally of portions of east, north and south Tacoma, including the Hilltop area.

Executive John W. Ladenburg will make the appointments subject to County Council confirmation.

Applications may be obtained at the Executive’s Office at 930 Tacoma Ave. S., Room 737 (253/798-7477) or from the Department of Planning and Land Services, 2401 S. 35th St. (253/798-7156).

Applications should be returned to the Executive’s Office no later than Friday, Oct. 11.

Terms for the unpaid position are four years.

Commissioners receive $25 per diem.

The commission meets on the fourth Tuesday of each month from 8:30 a.m. to 1 p.m. in the public meeting room at the Public Services Building (Annex), 2401 S. 35th Street.

Special meetings are held as necessary, generally on Wednesday evenings.