9 Tacoma volunteers earn City of Destiny Awards

Tacoma Mayor Marilyn Strickland and Tacoma City Council will recognize Tacoma’s top volunteers this year during the 27th annual City of Destiny Awards at 7 p.m. on Tues., May 7. This event, which is free and open to anyone who is interested in learning more about the volunteer experience, will be held at the Stadium High School Auditorium, located at 111 N. E St., in Tacoma.

This year’s City of Destiny Award recipients are May Luu (Youth Leadership); Tatiana Mason (Youth Service); Adria Farber (Adult Leadership); Donna Buck (Adult Sustained Service); Lincoln Tree Farm Counselors (Environmental Sustainability); Zoo Guides (Youth Group); International Association of Machinists District 751 (Employee Group or Union Group Award); The Zina Linnik Project (Neighborhood Group); and Dr. Gordy Klatt and The Tacoma Relay for Life (VolunteersCommunity Partnership).

Since 1987, the City of Tacoma has honored over 200 outstanding local volunteers through its City of Destiny Awards program.

The City of Destiny Awards program is spearheaded by a City Council appointed Citizens Recognition and Selection Committee comprised of local community leaders from a broad array of backgrounds and areas of expertise. This committee develops the City of Destiny Awards nomination tools and selection criteria, selects the City of Destiny Awards winners and plans the annual City of Destiny Awards event.

The annual City of Destiny Awards event is also covered by TV Tacoma and aired on both the Click! and Comcast Cable systems. On Click!, TV Tacoma can be seen on Channel 12 within Tacoma City limits and in Pierce County, with the exception of University Place, where TV Tacoma can be found on Channel 21. On Comcast, TV Tacoma can be seen on Channel 12 within Tacoma City limits and on Channel 21 in Pierce County. TV Tacoma is not on the Comcast system in University Place, but is accessible anywhere via the Internet.

More information is available online at cityoftacoma.org/DestinyAwards.