5 open seats on Tacoma Landmarks Preservation Commission

Tacoma City Council is looking to fill five open volunteer positions on the Landmarks Preservation Commission, which oversees the establishment and regulation of landmarks, local historic districts, proposed name changes for public facilities, and certain property tax incentives.

Two “Architect” positions are open to individuals residing in Tacoma who are currently, or have in the past, been professionally certified architects. Two “Professional” positions are open to individuals who have had professional experience or training related to historic preservation originating from employment or study within the following disciplines: art or art history, architecture, history, architectural history, planning, prehistoric and/or historic archaeology, conservation, construction or building trades, landscape architecture, urban planning or design, structural engineering, land use or real estate law, real estate, appraisal or real estate finance, project management or contracting, or a related discipline. One “At Large” position is open to Tacoma residents with a demonstrated interest in historic preservation.

The Landmarks Preservation Commission consists of 11 members who are nominated by the Mayor and confirmed by a majority vote of the city council. Membership is composed of three architects, four individuals with professional expertise in preservation related fields, one representative from the Tacoma Arts Commission, and three interested citizens. Non-voting ex-officio members may be appointed to represent property and business owners within Tacoma’s historic districts.

Applications must be submitted to the City Clerk’s Office by Fri., Nov. 1, 2013. To apply, please visit cityoftacoma.org/cbcapplication or contact Linnea Meredith at (253) 591-5178, City Clerk’s Office, Room 220, Municipal Building, 747 Market St., Tacoma, WA 98402. For additional information on the Landmarks Preservation Commission, please visit cityoftacoma.org/government/committees_boards_commissions/landmarks_preservation_commission or contact Reuben McKnight at (253) 591-5220.