2017 City of Destiny Award Winners announced by City Events and Recognition Committee

Mayor Marilyn Strickland and the City Council will recognize Tacoma’s top volunteers this year during the 2017 City of Destiny Awards on June 9. The event – which includes a 5 p.m. meet and greet followed by an awards ceremony from 5:30 – 8 p.m. – will take place at STAR Center’s Journey Hall (3873 S. 66th St. in Tacoma). This year, for the first time, the City of Destiny Awards program will also recognize volunteers and professionals who serve as disability advocates.

“Tacoma’s legacy of volunteerism inspires us every day,” said City Events and Recognitions Committee Chairwoman Erin Lee. “At this year’s City of Destiny Awards celebration, we will award our community peers who give their time with grace and generosity.”

The 2017 City of Destiny Award recipients are:

Adult Leadership: Pattie Ramos
Lifetime Service: Thomas Dixon
Youth Service: Amaya Fox
Economic Development: Dr. Huytuong Nguyen
Group: Hilltop Urban Gardens
Equity and Empowerment: Andre Penalver
Disability Advocate – Individual Volunteer: Darren Smith
Disability Advocate – Individual Professional: Patt Kosier

– City of Tacoma