2 receive Tacoma Historical Society Awards

The Tacoma Historical Society has announced this year’s recipients of the Alan C. Liddle Award and the Murray Morgan Award, which were presented at the Society’s annual meeting April 13.

The Alan C. Liddle Award, named for the local architect and historic preservation champion, was awarded to Robert W. Evans. This award recognizes individuals and organizations that have significantly contributed to the preservation of Tacoma’s historic structures.

Evans has been involved in most of the initiatives to make Tacoma better city since he moved here from his native Oakland, Calif., said Tacoma Historical Society Director Mary Bowlby in a statement. Like Alan Liddle, Evans was one of the first to recognize the importance to saving Tacoma’s downtown buildings. He is a charter member of the effort to save the Murray Morgan Bridge, and was involved in starting the Tacoma Architectural Foundation. Evans’ service to the community has included the Tacoma Planning Commission, Tacoma City Council, and Tacoma Library Board.

“Bob has long been a voice heard throughout the community, vigorously encouraging Tacoma to treasure its historic architecture, whether a grand structure or a simple railroad warehouse,” added Bowlby. “His message wasn’t always popular, but he never stopped speaking on behalf of historic preservation.”

The Murray Morgan Award, named for the famed author, was awarded to Roger Cushman Edwards. This award recognizes individuals and organizations that have significantly contributed to efforts to preserve and communicate local history.

Cushman Edwards is the great-great-grandson of Joseph “Old Cush” Cushman, who arrived in Olympia, Wash. Territory, in 1852. Roger bought his first cabin at Salmon Beach in 1962, is the chairman of the Salmon Beach Historical Society, and spearheaded the movement to have Salmon Beach declared a state historic district. He is the author of the 2006 “Images of America” book Tacoma’s Salmon Beach.