2 locals receive Tacoma Historical Society awards

The Tacoma Historical Society has announced the recipients of this year’s Murray Morgan Award and Alan C. Liddle Award.

The organization’s Murray Morgan Award was presented to Dr. Jerry V. Ramsey for his work as a historic re-enactor, presenter, and author. Ramsey, who graduated from the University of Puget Sound and earned a Ph.D. from Columbia Pacific University, retired after working for 28 years at Tacoma Public Schools. He most recently wrote A Fur Trade Era Anthology.

Robert L. Schuler received the organization’s Alan C. Liddle Award for his work as the former curator of Tacoma Public Library’s Richards Studio Photography Collection. Although he recently retired from the library, Schuler, a graduate of Illinois State University and of the library school of Rosary College, Oak Park, Ill., continues to assist the library’s Northwest Room on a volunteer basis.

The awards were presented Monday during the Tacoma Historical Society’s 24th annual meeting at the University of Puget Sound.

The Murray Morgan Award recognizes individuals and organizations that have significantly contributed to efforts to preserve and communicate local history. Past recipients of this award include Murray Morgan (1992); Winnifred L. Olsen (1993); Caroline Kellogg (1994); Ottilie Markholt (1995); Dr. Ronald E. Magden (1996); Gary Fuller Reese (1997); Cecelia Svinth Carpenter (1998); Robert Tschida (1999); Tacoma-Pierce County Genealogical Society (2000); Brian G. Kamens (2001); Caroline Denyer Gallacci and Ron Karabaich (2002); Charlotte Medlock (2003); Jim Fredrickson (2004); Dorothy “Dode” Trip (2005); Marie Hayden (2006); Ralph Decker (2007); Karla Wakefield Stover (2008); Roger Cushman Edwards (2009); Paul R. Michaels (2010); Deb Freedman (2011); Thomas R. Stenger (2012); and Chuck Fowler (2013).

The Alan C. Liddle Award recognizes individuals and organizations that have significantly contributed to the preservation of Tacoma’s historic structures. Past recipients of this award include Alan C. Liddle and Patricia Sias (2008); Robert W. Evans (2009); Linda Bowman and Kathryn VanWagenen (2010); L.T. Murray Jr. (2011); August Gene Grulich (2012); Dr. Jim Hoard, Dawn Lucien, and Dennis Flannigan (2013).

More information is available online at tacomahistory.org.


To read the Tacoma Daily Index’s complete and comprehensive coverage of the Tacoma Historical Society, click on the following links: